Say My Name

This week has been interesting to say the least.  I’ve been trying really hard NOT to go
straight in on people, lol so instead I write. We have all dealt with people whether that be at work, personal or whatever   the venue, who like to include their
statements with “some people.” I’ll admit, I’ve used this often in some blog post that I have written. This kind of ties into a post I written earlier
entitled, “Sub-messaging.” I use phrases like  “some people”  to generalize on topics im writing about . If I have something I need to say directly to someone or if I want that person to know I am talking about them I will put their name in it. Trust me when I say I have no problems in doing that, lol. The problem as of lately is that even knowing that person wasn’t mentioned people will  still assume that whatever is being discussed HAS to be about them , or it leaves them  guessing , “Who is she talking  about?”  What I have noticed is that in cases of disputes, disagreements or even common day-to-day events/areas, such as the work place, people seem to be afraid to be direct and say WHO they are referring to.

Much like the rest of the world, I don’t like to be grouped in a box with everyone else or perceptions being changed or said because of what one person did, but if anything you are saying or doing is about me, say my name.  Don’t tip toe around it, be an adult. Say exactly WHO you having your issue with.  Here is one better, discuss it with that person directly instead of a group setting leaving questions and having everyone tripping and  wondering what is going on. If it doesn’t pertain to people as a group I feel that it shouldn’t even be brought up. That is one thing,  if anything ,I learned while in the military. I don’t know why people just can’t say the person’s name and be direct in who they are referring to and converse with them. Instead they want to be subliminal like everyone is a mind reader and feeling like they’ve accomplished something by being indirect. Now, I do believe there is a time and place for
being indirect, just some people misuse this and try to prove themselves to being the” better” person when they are really just being an ass.  I said earlier this week and I still encourage people to take heed. . . until someone says your name or refers to you DIRECTLY  is when you should respond, other than that keep it moving.  There are some instances about myself in my life where I have done just that. So next time you think someone is saying something to you or about you tell them to say your name, if they don’t they have to be alking about someone else and go on your merry way ( ^_^)


2 Comments on “Say My Name”

  1. I agree 100% Jessica. I can’t STAND being grouped!! Besides, grown women display grown woman actions. Great post!

    • jrocsworld says:

      Thank you and I agree w what you say as well. I’m starting to think the reason why its so easy for people to resort to “grouping” is because its an easy out for them instead of addressing issues directly to individuals


Leave a Reply

